Pritzker Prize 2017

The prestigious Pritzker Prize for the year 2017 has been announced and the winner is RCR Arquitectes from Spain.

The 39th edition of the Pritzker Prize was announced by Tom Pritzker, Chairman of Hyatt Foundation on 1st March, 2017. This is the first time that instead of one winner, there are three winners of this award namely Ramón Vilalta, Rafael Aranda and Carme Pigem.

RCR Arquitectes was founded in 1988 by Aranda, Pigem and Vilalta in Olot in Catalonia Region of Spain and since then the trio have been working together collaboratively. In their work, they have harmonised the aspects of materiality and transparency in addition to a marked connectivity with the surroundings. They are determined on their efforts to create spaces that have an elaborate discourse with the contexts. For them, architectural practice is a creative process that involves an intense commitment to the vision before them. They have been the consultant architects to the Natural Park in the Volcanic Zone of La Garrotxa and have delivered more than 300 lectures in Spain and around the world. Their works and contribution to the domain of design and architecture has been accounted in the book “RCR Aranda Pigem Vilalta Arquitectes. Entre la abstracción y la naturaleza” by William J.R. Curtis, which was published by Gustavo Gili, Barcelona (2004) and also in the journals El Croquis, a+u, Casabella, Detail, Bauwelt, and Arquitectura Viva, among others.

The citation of the jury said that each building designed by these architects is special and is uncompromisingly of its time and place, the fruit of true collaboration and at the service of the community. To quote the citation, “For these reasons, exemplified in all their built work, and for their ability to express the local, but also the universal, uniting us with one another through architecture, Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta are awarded the 2017 Pritzker Architecture Prize”.

Photo Courtesy: The Pritzker Architecture Prize –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *